Does Going Through “Empty Nest Syndrome” Have to Hurt?

I am sorry it took me so long to get my weekend post out but life got in the way and then I couldn’t get in the zone.  John and I went away and we had such a nice time in Louisbourg enjoying music, food, and drinks.  I forgot my pillows for sleeping in the camper so I managed to coax my sister into coming out for a drive.  It’s a good 25-30 mins drive and she was home alone.  She’s entering the “tween” stage with her daughter and I don’t think she’s realizing just how much alone time she’s going to have.  Erica is only 13 and already hit the streets with her friends.  She normally likes hanging out with her mother, but not this time – when Fran asked her if she wanted to come out for the drive to see “aunt Roz” her reply was, “do I have to?”  I felt that little empty nest pain for her … the same jab in the gut I get everytime I walk into Alyssa’s room … everytime I look around and I’m the only one here … even everytime I look at John on his laptop and I in my chair watching tv with no children in the house.

It was a nice visit … no kids to run around to look after, no kids to say, ‘shush, mommy’s talking’, no kids to take to the playground … **jab** – there’s that awful feeling again – although it wasn’t as painful – it was actually a little bit nice to be able to sit and have a drink and not have to worry about feeding anyone – or watching the theme of our conversations and making sure they were G rated.  My other sister showed up on her bike with her friends and she stayed for a bit – also nice – I was actually having adult time and it was pretty good.  For that brief moment in time, I didn’t feel the jab.

After everyone left, and a few drinks later, John and I laid down for a nap.  We then got up around dusk and got ready for the music over by the beer tent.  We bumped into his sister and we hung out with them for a bit.  This is great – more adult time.  For what seemed like forever, it was time to go back to camp – I texted both girls to say goodnight, I love you and off to sleep we went.  It was a nice relaxing time and for most of it, we found ourselves sitting alone … it wasn’t as painful as I thought it would be.

John and I

John and I

Louisbourg

Louisbourg

Fortress of Louisbourg

Fortress of Louisbourg

Me and my sisters

Me and my sisters

John eating crab dinner

John eating crab dinner

Leave a Reply

