Throw Back Thursday (TBT)

I just thought I’d reflect on the kids when they were younger.  I might make it a regular thing on Thursdays … I have CDs with tons of pictures – I might even put some of the older ones online.

After we moved home from Alberta, it was just the girls and I – or so it seemed.  I know my family was here … but it was me who did it all.  I was mom 24/7 and ya know, I wouldn’t have had it any other way.  I attended ALL school functions … and every summer I’d try to take them on a little vacation.  We never went too far ..I think the farthest we went was Moncton NB – but it was fun … we went through the zoo, water park, butter emporium and took a ride on the train.  Also, Magnetic Hill was SO cool – it would pull you up the hill like a magnet.  It was $5.00 but you don’t go to Magnetic Hill and not try it!

IM000856.JPG

Magnetic Hill, NB 2007

butterfly emporium, NB 2007

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Every Halloween, Easter, Christmas we’d do fun things together.  Those are the memories that I wanted to give my girls and definitely ones that I will cherish forever.  I remember even if I didn’t want to go, I went anyway because I wanted to spend the time with the kids and I knew they would love it – and they always did.  I don’t remember any function or activity we did where I heard, “omg that was terrible” … there was never a bedtime, never a time where I had to tell them it’s too late – if they were tired, they’d fall asleep in the car.

Halloween 2007

Halloween 2007

Halloween 2007

Halloween 2007

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now that they are older, they are pretty much on their own – Alyssa’s in Halifax now and Ashley is starting college in the fall (locally, thank God) so she’s spending her summer hanging out with friends.  I haven’t really seen much of them for Halloween – it never was my favorite time of year – I’ve had to take them trick or treating since they were 2 and 4 … it was 3 days before Halloween, 1998 when their father and I split up .. so for their first real one together, I had to put on my smiley face and take them out.  I’m not even sure they were feeling it – but it was Ashley’s first.  The sad thing is, I don’t even have a picture of her …

These are my TBT pictures – I had a lot of fun looking for them.  I can’t wait to do it again next week!

Leave a Reply

